Fleetwood Mac, Aerosmith, Kinks, Foreigner Members Among Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees


SongwritersHallofFame.orgMembers of Fleetwood Mac, Aerosmith, The Kinks and Foreigner are among the nominees up for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame next year.  Fleetwood Mac's Stevie Nicks, Christine McVie and Lindsey Buckingham; Aerosmith's Steven Tyler and Joe Perry; The Kinks' Ray Davies; and Foreigner's Lou Gramm and Mick Jones all are in the running in the Performer/Songwriters category, as are Steve Winwood, Electric Light Orchestra's Jeff Lynne, Jimmy Buffett, Elvis Costello, blues great B.B. King and The Eurythmics' Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart.

In the Non-Performer category, nominees for induction include JD Souther, who co-wrote the Eagles' "Best of My Love," "Heartache Tonight" and "New Kid in Town"; Don Covay, who penned Rod Stewart's "Tonight's the Night," Steppenwolf's "Sookie, Sookie" and Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools"; and Holly Knight, who composed Pat Benatar's "Love Is a Battlefield."

Voting members of the Songwriters Hall of Fame have until December 17 to choose who they think should be inducted and to turn in their ballots.  The 2013 Awards Gala, at which songwriters who receive the most votes will be inducted, will take place June 13 in New York City.

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio

 «  Return to previous page
 »  Send to a friend
Subscribe to channel